Beginning with pottery and flints found in Church Street that date back to 3000BC and then evidence of Roman occupation, Twickenham has a long and rich heritage to thank for its diverse architecture and endless tales today.
From a first settlement on the ground by Eel Pie Island in AD704, to a church that is believed to have stood on the site of St Mary’s towards the end of the 11th century, the village grew during the Middle Ages along Church Street and King Street.
By the early 16th century Richmond and Hampton Court had both become royal palaces and members of the royal households began to build homes in Twickenham thanks to its situation between them. The present Twickenham street pattern was established by 1635.
Montpelier Row and Sion Road were built in the early 1720s, and The White Swan pub dates from around the same time. A bridge replaced the ferry to Richmond in 1777 and the railway came to Twickenham in 1848.
In 1909 Twickenham became the first permanent home of the Rugby Football Union and England still play home internationals there today in a stadium that seats 75,000. There is a museum beneath the east stand with interactive displays, period set pieces and items from the famous Langton collection.
The vicinity of the station has been radically remodelled in recent years – as has the station itself, as part of the Twickenham Gateway project. Phase Two of that project is expected to see six retail units open and over 100 new homes be built by early 2021.